Potty Training PT 2

So after last month’s failed attempt at the 3-day potty training weekend, I decided to hold off on the whole idea for a while. Of course, not everyone had that same idea. “Helpful” family members kept suggesting he use the potty, which I couldn’t really blame them for trying. Anyway, I hadn’t put much effort in it, and was happy to see that at school they were having him sit on the potty at every diaper change and after meals and naps.

And then one day, I am working at home and I get a notification on my phone from Daycare, “Went Potty”. Wait, does that really mean he used the Potty?! I called and talked to his teacher. Confirmed! Colt used the potty at school!

That night after dinner I decided to make up a sticker chart. I thought that perhaps we can start encouraging him to go again. I got out some paper and some crayons and drew a crude chart, and as a reward, drew a tractor. Colt is obsessed with tractors and trains right now. I showed Colt the chart and let him pick out a sticker for his potty success earlier in the day. I told him he needed to go pee-pee in the potty 10 times and then he would get his new tractor. This was later revised by Dada, to just 5 timesIMG_20170509_085007

For the next few days we had no other successes. We would occasionally sit on the potty, but it ended up just being the wrong time and we would get no pee-pee or poop. Just a lot of stories read.

I decided that what I needed to do was get him used to having his diaper changed first thing after waking up. Since our morning routine is pretty rushed, if Colt didn’t have a bulging diaper when he got up, I would usually let him eat his breakfast first and then change him while getting dressed. No more of that. It was going to be straight up and straight to the changing table.

And wouldn’t you know it. Monday morning comes around and I get him up out of bed, lay him on the changing table, take off his pants and a dry diaper! Quick! what do we do now? “Do you want to try sitting on the potty? Do you have to go pee-pee?” “No!” Crap, ok. I put his diaper and pants back on and went and took him to the table for breakfast. I just knew he was going to go pee while he ate and I was disappointed in that missed opportunity. He finished his yogurt and banana and surprise, as we are going to get dressed I notice his diaper is still dry! “Do you want to sit on the potty while you eat your waffles?” “Ok” Internal Cheers! 

And we sat. And I read him his book on bugs. And we sat. And suddenly! Pee-Pee! Just as Mike was about to leave the house, he had to come back and do a quick hi-five and hugs, and whoo whoo! We dumped the pee-pee in the toilet and let Colt flush, and then we let him pick out a sticker for his chart.

Of course that was about the only successful part of that morning. The rest of the morning was spent trying to not get stern with a “Big Boy” who is goofing off rather than putting on his shoes and coat to get out the door.

This morning, again Colt woke up with a dry diaper. Poor little guy did not want to get up this morning and had to be coaxed out of bed. I asked him if he wanted to use the potty, “No”. I asked him if he wanted to drink his smoothie while sitting on the potty, “Ok”. So today we had breakfast on the potty. He drank his smoothie, still no pee-pee. He ate his Nutragrain bar, still no pee-pee. At this point, I had to get up and start getting ready for work. I handed him his banana, and he sat. And I checked in on him as I was looking for my pants (I am not good at laundry). I stopped in his room to check and sure enough, he had gone pee-pee! (And really emptied his bladder this time, yesterday he was too shocked by all the excitement that he stopped apparently and finished in his pull up shortly after).

We cleaned up the banana, and went and flushed his pee-pee, and then we got to put another sticker on the chart. And we got dressed and I let him have a sticker to wear on his shirt. His shirt, by the way is awesome. 

So I will be purchasing a Vtech Tractor with trailer from Amazon today. And we will keep working toward filling up our sticker chart. I am hoping that now that he sees the rewards, he will start being interested again. Though, I am nervous about getting to far into this and then having him regress when we go to Boston. My saving grace is that we will be visiting my aunt who runs a daycare, and who is used to potty training little boys.

IMG_20170509_100915

“No Cheese” he says as I ask him to smile

 

 

Leave a Reply

