Sleep

For the last month I have felt like a walking zombie. Like I just haven’t gotten enough sleep. Which is weird right, because my son sleeps through the night. Other than not getting to sleep in on the weekend, it really hasn’t been that different. Or so I thought.

Friday was a rough day. I woke up feeling ill, but hoped it was just from not eating well this week. There had just been a lot going on, and I just haven’t been hungry. But sure enough my tummy trouble lasted into the night.

Friday night ended up worse.  Colt woke up at around 11pm the first time, but I was able to get him back down fairly easy.  It was at 3am when he got up again, that we had a battle. He just wanted me to hold him.  As was the case a lot lately. It seemed that lately, every other night we were battling him to go back to sleep. 

We rocked in the chair in his room.  Nope. We laid in my bed. Nope. I put him back in his crib, which only resulted in an epic meltdown. This became him throwing a sleep filled tantrum on the floor while I sat there trying to calm him, and basically letting him exhaust himself until he’d lay back down. 

Saturday night I went to bed a bit later than I really wanted. I finally had time to watch a few episodes of The Walking Dead and attempt to catch up. Sure enough, 2am the first hint of a cry came through the monitor. And I thought to myself, what happened to my smart boy who used to be so good at self-soothing? And then it hit me. It’s so rare any more that he wakes up in the middle of the night, that when he does, I’ve been rushing to his side.

For I don’t even know how long now, if Colt wakes up in the middle of the night, I’ve been blaming teething or something and going in and soothing him back to sleep. Sometimes it works, but not always.

So this time I waited it out. I watched the clock and the baby monitor. The angry cries/yells at his crib rail only lasted about 15 minutes thankfully. And then he laid himself back down. He snuggled into his blanket and yelled a bit more. But it was much less dramatic. He eventually quieted down and was back to sleep fully in 35 minutes or so. 

I hate letting him “cry it out”. I really do. He’s such an independent, smart boy, I wanted to make sure he was still capable of putting himself back to sleep. When he woke up this morning, I showered him with hugs and kisses. I reassured him that I loved him and would be there when he needed me.

I’m hoping I won’t have to do that again.  I hope that if he wakes again, he’ll just be able to snuggle up with his fox or blanket and put himself back to sleep. Without the crying and fit that seems to come with it. 

Parenting. Just when you think you’ve got it…

2 thoughts on “Sleep

  1. It’s never easy. There’s nothing wrong with letting him cry it out occasionally. Hopefully it helps him become a more independent little guy and he learns how to self soothe. Hang in there. ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

