Baby Products I Love (The First Year)

I wrote a post after Colt was a month old, Baby Products I Love (The First Month). My intention was to write follow ups more often, but here it is, one year later.

Besides the things on the initial list, here are some additional favorites:

Graco Size4Me 65 Convertible Car Seat: After moving Colt around in the infant car seat, having a seat that stayed in the car was welcomed. Only I hated adjusting the straps on the convertible car seat we had in Mike’s car. Thankfully, I found the above mentioned car seat on sale during Amazon’s Prime Day. With shoulder straps that easily adjust up and down, there’s no worrying that they aren’t where they should be.

Fisher-Price Laugh & Learn Smart Stages Crawl Around Car: By far the toy he has gotten the most use out of. It helped him get better at sitting up, he used it to learn to stand. He loves the songs and it has various levels of noises. He’s most interested in dropping the balls in the little shoot, and fitting the block shapes in the right holes.

Fisher-Price Rainforest Jumparoo: Colt had a blast jumping around in this jumperoo. I’m actually sad to see it go, but he’s on the move so much, it only made sense to move it out of the way.

Little Sprout Silicone Baby Food Trays: These were great for freezing purees when I was making them for Colt. (I see a future in jello shots, now that we’ve moved on).

The Learning Experience: OK, not so much of a product, but I adore his daycare. The curriculum is great, his teachers are caring and nurturing. The management is so-so. Oh and they will be adding ipods to all the classrooms in the next month so that rather than getting a written report of Colt’s activities it will all be electronic. So looking forward to that!

Baby’s First books: These are the brightly-colored, foam paged books with subjects like colors, words, numbers, and animals. They are seemingly indestructible. And are lightweight enough for Colt to pick them up on his own and I don’t have to worry about them getting dropped on toes.

O Ball Car: I searched high and low for a car safe enough for a young infant. You’d be surprised how many are for a year and up. This car was easy for Colt to pick up and rattle. We could push it around for him and he’d chase after it. And eventually he learned how to roll it himself.

Chicco Caddy Hook On Chair: I absolutely love and hate this chair! And by that I mean it is an absolute life saver when we can bring it places where bringing a full high chair wouldn’t work. What I hate is that I spend way to much time cursing under my breath at the thing when I’m trying to take it apart. It has those tiny buttons you have to press in to pull the clamp off. I also got lucky and bought mine second hand at a mom to mom sale.

Go Pod:  This has been really nice for letting Colt hang out in the garage our outside with his Dada. Like a high chair slash folding camp chair it’s a place we can set Colt without worrying about him getting into things, and he can entertain himself. This has actually helped Colt gain the confidence to stand without needing something to hold on to by offering him just enough support.

Playtex Training Time Straw Cups: Love these. There is so much on the Internet about how sippy cups are bad for dental development. But what else can you offer a kid that’s not ready for a bottle? Straw cups. That is, if your child can figure out how straws work. It’s hard for some kids. Colt still has a hard time tipping the cup back so the straw helps him still get what he’s after.

VTech Safe & Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor: Originally, I had planned on using just a video monitor. And then I discovered that the one I had purchased had less than stellar range. On top of that, I couldn’t turn down the brightness enough to still see Colt and not be irritated by the TV like light on the nightstand. (edit: I just discovered that there is a feature that turns off the monitor after 3 minutes of no sound. And here I thought the battery was dying). So I picked up the above. And I love it. The two parent units allows us to keep one in the bedroom and the other in Mike’s workshop. They’re also cordless so when I want to get outside I can. The cords are also the same for both the monitor and the parental unit so moving the monitor around doesn’t have to involve me trying to crawl behind furniture to unplug it. We used to keep a parental unit in the living room, close enough to his swing that if he was napping there I could swap it with the monitor easily.

Tadpoles Transport Playmat Set: I’m happy I got this playmat. It’s held up well. It fits great in the space in the living room where we don’t have a rug. I don’t have it set up in the traditional square shape, so there are a few extra edge pieces (we pretend they are swords and Colt likes to chew on them). It’s fun and colorful. I think it really brings together his space and ours.

Here are a few things that I would have gotten something different if I could do over:
Graco SimpleSwitch Highchair and Booster: I should have looked into this better. I was drawn into the pattern (owls!) and it’s ability to convert to a booster seat that I didn’t realize that it didn’t have a removable tray insert. I didn’t like the idea of using the 5-point harness on a kid that could possibly choke, and the tray has the leg divider so it wasn’t necessary for keeping him in the seat. But now that he’s starting to feed himself, and he’s a lot more messy it’s hard to get him out without needing to remove the tray. Oh well.

Graco Pack ‘n Play Playard with Reversible Napper and Changer: I am on the fence with this one. I thought I was going to get so much more use out of it having the napper and changer included. I didn’t get to use it not a single time before he out grew it. I did love that it allowed for the “mattress” part to be raised, as that’s where he slept when we did use it until he was able to sit up himself and then we started using it in the lower position. I felt for the longest time that it was just too big. I couldn’t maneuver it anywhere. If I wanted to move rooms, I had to fold it partially to do so as it wouldn’t fit in hallways or doorways. And then what was the point of having wheels? Mike’s dad bought one of these to keep at his house, Fisher-Price Ultra-Lite Day and Night Play Yard. I actually thought at first it was just cute and convenient but I wonder if I would have gotten more use out of it. Maybe I would have saved myself two items and used it over the Pack and Play and the Rock and Sleep? But here’s the fun new twist. I watch Colt sleeping in this pack and play now and he nearly stretches from one end to the other and I don’t even think he’s that tall. I’m worried he’s outgrowing it too fast!

Leave a Reply

