Good Bye Corolla!

I did something crazy yesterday. I traded in my 2010 Toyota Corolla for a 2013 Toyota Venza.

It was such a quick decision, that I didn’t really get time to say goodbye to my Yoda.

I bought the Corolla (Thanks to Mike’s help) in 2011 because my 98 Chevy Lumina was on its last leg. I needed something more reliable, especially with all the (unknown at the time) traveling I would be doing.

I drove that car to practice a few times a week. Taking along skaters and officials if they needed a ride. I drove that car to many bout days in Detroit, (that’s where I’m pretty sure I bent my rim, but thankfully I made it home).

The Corolla took its first derby road trip to Niagara Falls for the last North Central Regionals. I remember asking Hi-Death to grab something from the back seat, when he returned he was utterly shocked at how clean it was, the item in question was the only thing in the back seat. And if you’ve ever been in HD’s car, you’ll know why that’s funny.

Over the next 3 years, I would drive that car to a number of tournaments. Playoffs in Kalamazoo, Ft. Wayne, Richmond, Kitchener-Waterloo, and Charleston. As well as ECDX in Philadelphia. It was in Philadelphia where I had my one and only emergency service repair. Every time I took the Corolla in for it’s oil change and regular maintenance, the service guys would ask where I was headed next.

Once I had Colt, the driving cut down quite a bit. I was no longer driving to practice. No derby road trips. It took 9 months for me to need an oil change.

When Colt was little, the infant carrier fit nicely in the back seat. A little snug but ok. Unfortunately, the bigger he got the harder it was to lug that seat around and I had to move into a stationary seat. Only that took up more space, and limited the amount of room to get Colt in and out.

It was time.

I went to the dealership for my oil change. Figured I’d test drive the Venza while I waited. There was no way they were going to come back with a price in my budget. Oh but they did. And after a long evening negotiating with Mike. And another long day negotiating with the dealer, I picked up my new car yesterday evening.

I got really lucky. When the dealer accepted the trade in, they listed the vehicle as an LE. But this was most definitely a luxury car with all the bells and whistles. So they had to honor the reduced price. 4 grand off the top as a mistake, 5 grand for my trade, a great interest rate, it was just my size.
image

It has a sun roof, and an extra roof window that doesn’t open, but I love all the natural light. It’s keyless and has a self closing trunk. The backseat is much bigger, so it’s easier to get Colt in and out of. Leather seats, personal heating/cooling and seat warmers. It’s more luxurious than I’m used to.

I love it. And it really is going to be a great car for a long while. And hopefully soon we can get something for Mike too.

Leave a Reply

