Splash Time!

With the weekend temperatures reaching the 90s, Mike decided that this would be a good time to introduce Colt to Lake St Clair.

Colt’s grandpa has been itching to get him out on his boat but we’ve wanted to see how he’d do in his life jacket first.

Mike put a little bit of water in the front compartment of his kayak and let it warm up a bit, which it did pretty quick.

wpid-wp-1437358863011.jpeg

Let’s just say he wasn’t a fan of the life vest.

It was an OK time out on the lake. The weather on shore was nice. But it was easy to tell that the hot weather was effecting us. Colt was a little extra fussy, and I had packed horribly. All things to take note of for next weekend.

And speaking of lessons learned. Sunday morning I fed Colt some oatmeal, thankfully in just his diaper because he was quite a mess. So while I cleaned up from breakfast, Mike ran him a bath. I took him to his tub, took off his diaper and plopped him in. And that’s when I realized that I should make sure he’s got a clean butt before going in.

So back out of the tub. Quick “diaper change”. New tub water. And finally, a bath.

I’d been toying with the idea of getting Colt a pool, or some kind of splash mat,but I was just having a hard time figuring out what or if I should even bother. He’s still so little, so the age limits get me a little worried.

Later Sunday, after once again debating it, my mom called.

“I’m picking up a kiddie pool for Zoey. Do you want one for Colt?”

“Yes please.”

She and Jess brought the little blue hard plastic pool over to the house. I put an inch or so of water in it and left it in the Sun to warm up.

wpid-wp-1437358840765.jpeg

Let’s say, this water experience went much better.

After making his baby food, I went out and pulled his pool into the shade. Changed him into his swim suit again. And plopped down into the pool with him.

He wasn’t sure at first, but was soon splashing around like in his bath. He even laid out on his towel for a bit after, drying off in the sun.

Overall it was a pretty good weekend and I think we did ok beating the heat.

Leave a Reply

