Solid Routine

At Colt’s 4 month checkup, his pediatrician said that we could introduce some solids into his diet. This was because he was already weighing in at 15 lbs, was drinking 32 ounces of milk a day, and was able to sit up with support. He suggested starting with rice cereal, and then moving on to apples and bananas, and after a few weeks, sweet potatoes and squash.

Colt hadn’t expressed an interest in solids yet, but I’d give it a try if it meant that I may get a little wiggle room in how much milk I needed to make.

That evening I bought some rice cereal, oatmeal, and a package of Gerber’s First Fruits; 8 one ounce packages of apple, banana, and pear purees.

We started the rice cereal, fully understanding that this was simply for practice and not nutrition. He seemed pretty receptive. So I started sending a little with him to daycare in the morning, and offering a bit in the evening when we’d get home.

At this same time we were moving from 6 five ounces bottles a day to 5 six ounce bottles. Getting 4 hours between feeds is great. Colt was also sleeping through the night without hardly any interruption.

After a week or so with the cereal he had seemed to loose interest. So over the next few weeks we introduced the fruits as well as avocado in his Kidsme Food Feeder. And with each new food there was a bit of interest, more so in the morning, but not so much in the evening. On the weekends, it was hard to get him to eat much more than half an ounce.

Since he still wasn’t showing any interest in eating solids, I gave him a week off. We worked on having him hold his own bottle, which he loved to do and got our new feeding schedule established.

It was right around this same time that he started waking at night. It used to be that I’d hear him start fussing about, I’d get up, offer him his paci and he was back to sleep. Suddenly now that wasn’t working. His fuss would turn to cries. The first few times I would hold him, soothe him, change his diaper, and eventually cave and offer him a bottle.

I racked my brain over this new habit of his. Was he hungry? Was it because he drank formula rather than milk before bed? Was this a sleep regression?

Trying to maintain his schedule, I was only offering him enough milk in the middle of the night to get him through til morning. Still, the cries in the middle of the night were no fun.

I had tried filling him up before bed and it wasn’t working. I tried keeping him awake more in the evening so he’d sleep better. Thankfully it was really only about a week of getting up when I finally told myself that I wasn’t getting up unless he really needed me. Sure enough that night, the kicks turned to whimpers, which turned to cries. I got up. I held him. Laid on the couch for about 10 minutes. The cries turned to whimpers, which finally became little snores.

That next Monday morning. Mike offered Colt some applesauce. And he did really good with it. That evening, I let him finish the applesauce and he ate a whole thing of pears too. Ever since he’s been great with solids.

He wants to hold the spoon. He grabs at the bowl. He’s just doing so great. He’s been eating two of the fruit packages a day at daycare, and eating some oatmeal in the evening. This weekend he tried his first veggie, having some squash.

And we’re back to sleeping through the night again. If I’ve learned anything, it’s that everything can change in an instant. Just when you’re getting comfortable with one routine, something changes and you need to adapt. With time and patience the hard days turn easy.
image

Leave a Reply

