Mother’s Day (pt 1)

A year ago Mother’s Day morning, I had a funny thought that it may be the last one I celebrate where I wasn’t a mother myself. Everything just felt like it was the right place, and the right time. 

14 days later, that funny feeling would be a reality.

This Mother’s Day I want to thank each mommas in my life that answered questions when I asked, shared their opinions and experiences, gave their reassurances, and shared in the excitement of motherhood.

I’ve never been so grateful to have such a network of people in my life.  So many different experiences and backgrounds but yet we were all able to relate to one another.

There are two amazing mommas that I want to call out and thank individually.

First, my mother-in-law, Margaret. If it wasn’t for her, I wouldn’t have the amazing husband that I have.  And besides that, she has been a second mom to me for nearly 20 years. Her support and kindness through this past year and more will always be treasured.  Thank you for being a great Mother, Mother-in-law, and now Grandmother.

And last but not least, my very own mother. My Mommy. A woman I looked up to, learn from, and leaned on. She raised me to be the strong, independent, intelligent, hardworking, caring, funny person that I am today, all by being an example I could easily follow.

From the days of walking home from school and enjoying a slice of pizza at Jo Angela’s just the two of us, to teaching me how to drive in the Kroger parking lot. From taking classes with me at OCC, to being my coworker at Edcor. She’s always been more than just my mom.

She held my hand as I held my breath during my first ultrasound. And she was there again, holding my hand when Colt took my breath away the day he was born.

Thank you for being my friend, my teacher, my classmate, and my coworker,and most importantly, my mom and Colt’s grandmother.

Leave a Reply

