Pitzy (Sort of) Cooks! Reese’s Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Bars

wpid-wp-1426353461854.jpegI got a fat head the other day when I made the Corned Beef and Cabbage IN A CROCK POT because I thought, “Gee, that wasn’t so hard, Mike is cooking dinner, why don’t I try to make dessert!”

First off, let me start by saying that the title of this recipe makes them seem more like oatmeal cookies than they really are.  There’s very little oatmeal in them.  They are pretty much peanut butter brownies.

Second, baking and taking care of an infant is not easy. Half way into mixing the sugar and butter together it became very apparent that this was a bad idea.  Mike was busy outside frying fish and chips, and I was feeding a fussy baby.  The oven had been preheated for longer than necessary.

Every once in a while, Mike would come back into the house, bring me some chips to try, and give me a hand stirring or mixing. I was definitely in over my head.  Eventually, I got out the Mai Tei again and tied Colt to my chest. I was able to finish getting the bars into the oven.

Regardless, these bars came out pretty good. They are really sweet, and full of peanut butter flavor.  And I learned my lesson about trying to do more than I can handle without backup.

Oh, and Mike’s fish fry dinner turned out pretty well too!

Recipe: Reese’s Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

Leave a Reply

