Baby Products I Love (The First Month)

After being home with Colt for the last month, there are definitely baby products that I have come to love, as well as a few that I could have done without.

Things I Love:
Rock and PlayFisher Price Rock and Play Sleeper – I cannot express how much I love this product! It’s lightweight and portable, I find myself dragging my sleeping kid from room to room with this so I can keep an eye on him. He sleeps so well in it (for the time being) as it is more of a swaddle shape rather than a flat surface. It’s also just the right size to fit next to our bed at night. Our bed sits pretty low, but I love that I can roll over at the slightest whimper and check on him. It also has a neat vibration option that at first I thought was dumb but soon realized it helps soothe our gassy little guy. I received this as a gift from my co-workers, but if I had bought it myself I may have opted for the self rocking upgrade, otherwise it’s simple enough to gently rock without much effort even on carpet.

cuddle-uCuddle-U Pillow by Leachco – Similar to the popular Boppy, this U-shaped pillow started out as kind of a hassle. I initially tried to use it when nursing to support the kiddo, but it was adding too much height to my lap and was making things difficult. Once I started EP’ing, I was at a loss for what I would do with it. And then I was reading an article about Tummy Time, and it suggested using the pillow to help give the baby an angle to support itself on. Bingo! Now it’s a pretty standard item in our day.

Chicco Keyfit 30 Car Seat – Hands down the easiest car seat to install and use. Just ask Lucie: Lucie’s List. Thanks to that site, I also ended up with my favorite stroller…

Chicco Liteway Plus Stroller – Unlike traditional travel systems or carrier frames, this stroller is the best of both worlds. While using your Keyfit 30 Infant Car Seat, you can unfold the stroller and snap the car seat in with just as much ease as using the car seat base. After Colt has outgrown his infant seat, it conveniently (and easily) transforms into an umbrella like stroller.  Much smaller than a lot of the big bulky strollers you end up abandoning because they are a pain to haul around. This stroller unfolds and folds back up with ease, and has a decent amount of underneath storage to make it perfect for a trip to the mall or a stroll outside.

Skip Hop Duo Deluxe Diaper Bag –  I’ll be honest, this was not my first choice for a diaper bag. In fact, I received the Fisher Price model at my shower from my Aunt and Cousin, and had to return it because the zipper was torn and coming loose from the bag. After looking at reviews on Amazon, turns out that was a common problem. (I have since learned to read reviews better). So I started looking at new bags at the store and found the Skip Hop brand to be pricy and kind of trendy. However, looking on Amazon later, I found this bag and have enjoyed it greatly. It has magnetic closures on all of the pockets which are much easier to deal with than zippers. And it has these nifty clips on each side so you can easily attach it to your stroller handles (super nice so it doesn’t have to take up space). The bag is just my kind of style and holds everything quite nicely.

wpid-wp-1425148071092.jpegFisher Price 4-in-1 Sling’n Seat Tub – The infant sling that clips into the tub has been really nice for bathing the little guy. And today we even had our first no meltdown bath! What I like best is that it grows with your baby. There is a seat insert that can be used two ways depending on if your baby can sit up on their own. And it fits nicely in my kitchen sink, which is a bonus, but it has legs so it can easily be used on the floor, a table or in your bathtub. Please note, the picture is not from today’s bath.

Medela Pump in Style Advanced Breast Pump – I knew that I wanted to breastfeed, and I knew I wanted to do it for a minimum of six months. To reach that goal, I’d need to pump at work. I read somewhere that some insurance companies will cover the cost of a pump. I am lucky that I have really good insurance so when I called Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, I was pleased to find out it was covered. I just needed a prescription. I was astounded when I found out that I was getting a pump that retailed for over $250. It’s been a life saver, literally. It got Colt over his bout with jaundice. If it wasn’t for having my pump when I did, I may not have been able to establish my supply when I needed to, and it will only help me continue to supply breast milk when I do go back to work.

Baby Connect App – My friend Chelsea turned me on to this app for your smartphone. I think it’s been super handy for this first time mom. The app allows you to track all things related to baby; diaper changes, nursing, bottles, pumping, milestones, medical visits, and much more. Where I have found the most benefit was especially during the first few days, when I was trying to interpret what Colt needed. I could look at the app and see that it had been 2 or 3 hours since we last fed and I could then understand what he meant when he shoved his fist in his mouth. OK, that wasn’t that hard to figure out. Once I started pumping and feeding him bottles it made it easier for me to know he was getting the daily amount of food needed, even if he was only eating an ounce or two or three at a time. It’s also handy for remembering when we may have last given him medication, especially that dose of Gas Relief at 3am. In the early days while he was jaundice, I kept more details about his bowel movements; color, texture and amount and it helped me communicate with the pediatrician. Since I’m still recovering from “baby brain” and adding weird sleep schedules on top of it, this app has been a lifesaver.

Amazon.com Widgets

Things I am not so pleased with:

Gracco Glider Petite LX – This swing was a replacement for a Summer brand swing I bought that didn’t work. Once again, reviews backfired on me and I should have researched this better. Turns out that they have notorious motor issues. It slows down and speeds up randomly and makes a knocking sound. I haven’t decided yet if I want to replace it again.

Things I’m glad I didn’t get:

Bumbo – From what I have read this little seat is only good for a few short months of your baby’s life. There is a short window of time when your baby can’t sit up on his own and when his chubby legs can still fit. Colt is already showing early signs of being able to sit up well, I’d rather strengthen his muscles than waste time and money on a foam seat.

Leave a Reply

