What to Pack for the Hospital?

+/- 10 days and counting!

Now that I feel I have all the things at home that I will need to care for a newborn, I have been thinking a lot about what to bring to the hospital.

There are 1000s of parenting websites on the internet that will give you anywhere from their “Top 5 Must Haves” to a 5 page “Be Prepared” list.

Here are a few things I am considering, and that I have questions on:

The Hospital Bag List

  • Phone & Charger
  • Nursing Tanks, Sweatshirt, & Pajama Pants
  • Slippers or Comfy Socks
  • Toiletries
  • Nursing Pads & Lanolin Ointment
  • Going Home Clothes for Mom & Baby
  • Change of Clothes for Dad
  • Water Bottle & Snacks
  • Camera
  • And A Car Seat (already installed)

But here are some things I have questions about:

  • Should I really bring my own pajamas and such if its really going to be the mess they say it can be?
  • Should I bring my own maxi pads or depends? I hear the hospital provided things are awful.
  • Will there really be that much down time that I will want my tablet, books or games?
  • My Baby Book? I’ve heard they’ll put his tiny little foot prints into the book if I ask.
  • Additional Baby Clothes?
  • Pillows?
  • What am I missing?

So you tell me moms & dads, is what I have enough? Should I leave some things at home? What were your essentials during your stay?

wpid-img_20150124_190722.jpg

Leave a Reply

