Pitzy Cooks! Summer Vegetable Soup

IMG_20140804_171920
I had a craving for some kind of vegetable soup the other day. I really wanted something tomato-y, and summer like, and I didn’t want it to come from a can, but didn’t really want to spend all day cooking it either.

And then my neighbor said he had a bunch of green beans to give us!

And by a bunch I mean I have no idea what I am going to do with them all!

A quick Google search for Summer Vegetable Soup pulled up this recipe, I checked the pantry and I had nearly all of the ingredients on hand. Well, kind of. I had can tomatoes, which would bring some flavor without the hassle of pealing and dicing a store bought tomato. And I had cannellini beans but not navy beans, which the cannellini are nice Italian beans anyway so, perfect fix.

Mike and I headed to Meijer and picked up our staples for the week and a few other things, and I had this pot started before Mike had the groceries put away.

It didn’t take long, and it smelled and tasted great! It was exactly what I was looking for!

Leave a Reply

