My Sister’s Wedding

IMG_20131112_180608My younger sister, Jessica, got married on October 4th to her great boyfriend of 9 years, Brian.

It was a beautiful autumn wedding. Her dress was ivory. Her bridesmaids wore red. Standing up for her on this gorgeous October evening was our sister, Jerrica, myself, our cousin Amber and her sister-in-law to be Amanda. Jerrica and I were co-maid of honors.

Standing on the grooms side was his father as best man, his cousin Nate, and his friends Alex and Dan.

Both of our families had a wonderful turnout. The ceremony was brief and to the point. As Jessica made her way down the aisle with our dad, both Jerrica and I got teary-eyed and then cried and laughed at together. Both of us so happy for our sister, both laughing at our uncontrollable tears.

The reception was perfect. We made an entrance to “The Final Countdown” as their good friend Schmidty introduced us. The speeches by both Jerri and Brian’s dad were both full of love and laughter. We toasted the happy bride and groom with custom wine flutes with our initials. And the food was pretty great! Plenty enough for everyone and delicious.

Jess and Brian had their first dance, or should I say dances, Their serious dance, to KC And Jojo’s “All My Life” and then they danced like hyper middle-school kids to “My Life Would Suck Without You” by Kelly Clarkson.

And then we all danced the night away. It was a great evening, and everyone had a great time. It was such a fun time catching up with family, laughing, dancing, and taking silly photos.

We finished off the night with a nightcap at our local favorite bar, Muldoons. It was only fitting to end the night talking baseball, drinking some beers, and eating popcorn.

I am so proud of my sister and the wonderful new journey she will be having with a really great guy. I’ve been happy to call Brian my brother, and I look forward to many more years with him.

image

Leave a Reply

