Patience

Patience is something that I have had very little of as of late.

And I am not sure why that is.

In fact, this lack of patience is coming to me at exactly the wrong time.

Being the Co-Head NSO of a large crew of officials is hard. Everyday I am challenged with new things. Roster changes. This person not getting along with that person. How to motivate my crew just enough. How do I make practice fun, yet educational. Making sure that we meet the needs of the league.

And on top of it all, I am also trying to balance my own ego.

A Scorpio by birth, I am energetic, and powerful. Unfortunately, I am also jealous, depressive and self-destructive. I have always had the tendency to dive in head first. And I mean into everything. As soon as I get involved into something that intrigues me, I am in it to win it. I will read everything, educate myself in whatever way possible, and fully incorporate myself into what ever it is.

I like zombies, I’m going to read everything I can, and watch all the movies. (Ok, admittedly on this one, I kinda suck at watching movies so there are a lot of essential zombie movies I haven’t seen).

I like Weird Al. I have his entire discography, have seen every video, subscribe to his newsletter and YouTube channel, and I have seen him in concert 4 times now. He’s an idol and I hope to meet him some day.

Roller Derby. I have read books, watched movies, attended more bouts than I can count, and have jumped right into officiating. From occasional fan, to season ticket holder, to NSO, to Head NSO working playoffs in under 3 years.

I don’t do things lightly.

And that’s how I tend to get myself into trouble.

My biggest challenge lately is trying to motivate the NSO crew to continue to seek out ways to improve their officiating. I am coming to understand that not everyone wants follow in my footsteps. And that has been a hard lesson.

I am also working towards becoming a mother. I am trying to eat right, eliminate caffeine, get sleep, drink less alcohol. This is also when I am working on being a good wife as well. I know some of you might think it’s silly, but I still want to provide Mikey with a clean house, and home cooked meals when I can. I am grateful that he helps with these things too.

In the last 6-8 months I have been on pins and needles waiting for the next big thing that is going to change my life. Am I going to get certified as an NSO with the WFTDA? Am I going to work the WFTDA Playoffs? Am I going to get elected as Co-Head? All things that I couldn’t control the outcome of.

Now I am waiting on myself to take the next big steps.

“Patience is a bitter plant but it has sweet fruit.” –

German proverb

Leave a Reply

