What’s in a Name?

I have recently come up with a quandary.

Should I change my derby name?

When I started NSOing 2 years ago, I chose the name Pitzy. It’s a nickname I have had for years, going all the way back to 6th grade. I selected it mainly, cause it’s been a part of me for so long that I knew I wouldn’t have to get used to learning a whole new name. Also, the thought of being able to think quickly when someone yells that a skater is coming hot through the infield didn’t sound like a bad idea either.

Pitzy was easy. People picked up on it quick. It’s short and endearing.

Pitzy is also the name that is printed on all of my shirts, my track jacket, and all of my evaluations.

Some time last year, I awoke one bout day morning. Not wanting to get out of bed just yet, I reached over and switched on my phone. One new notification on Facebook. Oi! Rish has posted to your wall. Hmm. “Is your full derby name Pitzen Giggles?” Huh? I was home alone that morning. It took me a minute. I commented back , “Pitzen Giggles? It sounds about right. What did I do now?” I texted Mayor, “Happy Bout Day!” I sat up, huh… And then I said it out loud. Pitzen Giggles. hehehe. Pitzen Giggles. I love it!

Later in the season, I would change the name on the back of my Stat Army shirt. Mrs. McSmartass a few times, Pitzen Giggles another, and once Pitzy Rumblounce*.

But it wasn’t until recently that I really started to embrace it. Joke about it. I mean, how many other people can say their derby name got longer? I changed my Instagram. I changed it on the forum.

The thing that gets me, is that it fits me so well! I mean I giggle. All the time. When I am nervous. When something tickles me just right. I mean all. the. time.

I have to order a new Stat Army shirt for the season. I am thinking about adopting Pitzen Giggles on the home league, and keeping Pitzy on the road.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

