That Time We Saw Weezer

Yesterday afternoon I was sitting at work, jealous that my friend Doug was going to see Weezer at Ceasars Windsor that evening.

After I got home from work, I was doing my regular wind down, chilling on the couch and scrolling through Facebook. And what do I come across?  AK has two tickets to Weezer and he’s looking for someone to join him.

I was reluctant at first. I’d already been out the last two nights, did I want to leave Mike at home alone for a third? Eh, can’t hurt to ask right? So I texted AK.

I cleared my scheduled workout with Kraken. Checked with Mike to make sure he was cool with it. And decided why the ef not?

AK thought that sounded like a good idea so he told me to meet him at 7:30.  The show started at 8. In Canada. I got to his house just after 7.

Of course we BS’d for a bit so we didn’t get on the road til after 7:30.

Half way through the tunnel, I pull out my enhanced license. It allows me to cross into Canada without needing a passport. AK says, “I forgot my passport.”

Are you for real? Great.

And yes, I should have known better!  I should have asked before we even got in the car!

So we ask if we can turn around. Nope. They put us straight through to customs. But, we get off easy and the friendly Canadian boarder agent gives a stern look and tells us not to do anything stupid and to come right back after the show. Sweet!!!

A couple of wrong turns later, we arrive, we buy a beer, we find our seats… And the last two songs of the night were amazing! They finished with Undone (The Sweater Song). Yea, you heard me… We caught only the last two songs…

 IMG_20130712_020606I really have no room to complain about that. They were free tickets, and we were basically in the country illegally. It could have been a lot worse. And besides, our seats were 13th row, we were pretty close.

After the show, AK and I met up with Doug and Brian. And they showed us all the pictures they got from the front row. Then we decided to head around back and see if we could meet any of the band.

Canadians are awesome in the fact that they will tell you exactly where the tour buses are located. Americans usually tell you to piss off.

IMG_20130712_085707So we waited with a pretty cool crowd of people. We eventually met Patrick Wilson, Brian Bell, and Scott Shriner.  Yesterday was Scott’s birthday, so we sang “Happy Birthday” to him when he came out. He shared his birthday donut with us.  I got to eat Weezer’s donut!

River Cuomo was a different story, we waited for him for a long time, but all we got was a passing wave. But we had fun waiting for him.

And back to the US. Where of course we got pulled into customs once again. And had the car searched once again. And was asked what kind of people travel to foreign countries without their passport. Just AK.

But we made it back. And once again an adventure was had.

Thanks for the fun time AK, Doug & Brian!

IMG_20130712_085443 IMG_20130712_085303

Leave a Reply

