ECDX Road Trip

Monday, I got home from an amazing road trip to Philadelphia. I was there to attend the Officiating Clinic as well as the East Coast Derby Extravaganza.

I had a blast!

There was a few delays Wednesday morning waiting on Diamond Dust’s train to arrive, but we had no problems getting on the road once Sticket Pickett arrived.

Let this Pioneer predict your future!

Fortune Teller from the Past!

About midway through PA, we decided to stop at Penn’s Cave & Wildlife Park and take a cavern boat tour.  We had fun using our imaginations to see the neat little cave formations, as well as heckling our adorable teenaged guide. After the tour, we got some pictures with the bison and headed back on the road.

After a strange little stop in a strange little town, (See: On the Go: Rural Pennsylvania) we grabbed some food at an interesting little bar, that was obviously meant just for the locals.

And back on the road we were once again. We made it into Philly around 7ish. And the three of us relaxed and got to bed early for our first night.

In the morning, Diamond and I headed off to the Clinic where I was happy to see many of the officials I have come to call my friends. We learned some things, and caught up on all of the new rules and standard practices.

Margaritas Pass the Time Nicely

Margaritas Pass the Time Nicely

That evening, a bunch of us gathered for dinner and talked about our future officiating plans. I had to kill some time before heading into Philly to pick Private Itchy up from the airport. His flight kept getting delayed due to stormy weather.

At about 1:30am Sticket and I were back on the road and finally picking up Itchy from the airport. And if that wasn’t exciting enough, when we were oh so close to reaching our hotel home for the night, my car made a huge pop, smoke poured out from under the hood, and refused to start. We waited for the tow truck, we chatted, and eventually had an entertaining taxi ride back to the hotel at 4am.

The next day started much too early, with a quick 2 mile walk to the car rental place, a rushed drive to the Officiating Clinic and multiple phone calls to multiple dealerships in an attempt to find my car, and then have it fixed.

I did my best to pay attention to that days lessons, and by the time scrimmage was coming to an end, I was on my way to the dealership to pick up my car. A vacuum hose had popped off the manifold. But once my car was back in my possession, the rest of the tournament turned out to be a blast.

I watched some great derby, drank some beers, took a dip in the pool, and bought some cool merch.

There was also the Roast of Judge Knott, where my derby father, AK 40oz was a riot. And speaking of derby relationships, AK introduced me to a few more distant derby family members, including his Derby Wife, Bulldog.

There was also the trip to Philly to have a side-by-side comparison of the two competing cheesesteaks, Geno’s and Pat’s King of Steaks with Meow Ka-Pow, Geoknitter, and Itchy.

ECDX 2013!

I loved the nerdery that came with trying to breakdown what makes a French Mimosa so French with Kill C. Grammar and GalVaTron. As well as language lessons from the Canadians.

And even if AK 40oz drives me mad some days, I didn’t even mind playing the “Where’s AK?” game Monday morning before getting on the road back to the Mitten.

And all of the talking AK and I got to do along that 9 hour drive home, actually made the time go by quite quickly.

Oh, and while in Philly, I got some great news that I can’t wait to share with you all next week, as well as some news I can share right now!

I was elected DDG’s Co-Head NSO along with Circuit Broad. And my congrats also extend to Mayor McSmartass (my most awesome hubby) and GeoNo UDi’int! on their Co-Head Ref positions, and to the returning Rusty Wheeler as Head of Stats.  Season 9 is looking like it will be an amazing season!

You can check out more photos by clicking over to my Instagram page! 

Leave a Reply

