The Old & The New

It’s easy to let life get the best of you. Time is both infinite and and fleeting.

Time seems to be flying by me lately. Days turning to weeks, and weeks into months.  It’s easy to let things slip past me.

I was recently reminded, the hard way, that just a few months ago I was ready to move in with one of my best friends and start down a totally new path. And now I rarely see him. And it’s not like I am doing it on purpose.

There have been so many things going on and I am doing a lot to figure out what it is that I want out of life.  Two of my best friends, Gabby & Ian, have both played huge parts in helping me define who I am. They started me on this path that eventually led to my involvement in roller derby. And that, has been huge in my life.

But it’s important to go back to your roots and remember where you started. And part of that for me is not taking things for granted and not assuming anything. I assumed that with Ian working nights, that he didn’t want to hang out during the week. This assumption was also fueled by my not hearing from him much throughout the week either. And that was his assumption that I was too busy.

This weekend I was able to take the time to hang out with Gabby and Ian.

Gabby and I caught up over a sushi lunch at Osaka.  Those 12 bites of food being more delicious with such great company.

After that I stopped by Ian’s and was able to catch up with him for a bit.

Then the four of us, now including my Mike, made our way to the theater to catch the remake of Evil Dead.

The original Evil Dead films are some of my favorite movies of all time.  I have seen them, along with Army of Darkness, more times than I can count. I was a little hesitant about a remake, but reading the articles about Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell’s involvement and approval, left me reassured that it could be done right.

And it was. The remake was a great retelling of the story with more of a modern twist, a little more detail to the story, with some great special fx and gore.  The film had me cringing in horror on more than one occasion. And also had me giggling and smiling at each little nod to the original.

The old and the new can coexist. It just takes work, and respect.

Leave a Reply

