Mustard Plug & Garbage

It’s been a fun-filled weekend full of music. Music from my youth specifically.

Friday night I met up with Belle Isle Hurtya and her boyfriend in Ypsi. We had dinner at The Wurst Bar. Which I have to say was pretty amazing.  Brats are awesome food as it is, but when you have interesting meats (and non-meats) to choose from, pretzel rolls, a variety of toppings, and tater tots, you really can’t get any better.  I wanted to see how good just a simple brat could be, and had the PBR Poached Brat, on a pretzel roll with caramelized onions and stadium mustard. And how can you choose between regular tots and sweet potato tots? You don’t have to. You can get a mix, and they also come with a marshmellow dipping sauce.  Yummo!

Oh yea, music… not food… that’s what I am writing about…

So Belle and I headed to the Blind Pig in Ann Arbor to catch a band that was one of the soundtracks of my youth, Mustard Plug. When I was in 9th grade I believe, I started listening to some ska but being a young kid without anyone to really guide me, I pretty much just listed to MP’s Evildoers Beware and  the Suicide Machines on repeat, with a little Save Ferris and Mighty Mighty Bosstones mixed in.

The show was great. I was apparently one of the only people left in the state that hadn’t seen them before, but it was fun to dance and sing along with everyone. After 20 years, the guys are still putting on a great show full of energy.

Saturday night, I met Terror Ettes at the Majestic Theater in Detroit to see another great band, Garbage.  Terror and I were both shocked to see how amazing Shirley Manson is looking for being 46 years old.  Her voice was still perfect. They sounded fantastic as they played a mix of songs from both old albums and their latest.

About halfway through the show, Shirley started to talk in her cute little Scottish accent, about a guy who had flown a great distance for a charity thing she had put on, and about how his boyfriend had contacted her when they found out Garbage was going to be in Detroit. And so she invited them both up on to stage where an incredibly adorable marriage proposal took place.  They all posed for a quick picture before getting back to the music.

Garbage @ Majestic - Detroit 3.30.13

Garbage @ Majestic – Detroit 3.30.13

The show was amazing, and Terror and I had a great time.  We drank some beers and had a couple shots of some really fine whiskey… cough… And we were both asked if we could stand elsewhere because we were “too loud.”  I mean it would have been one thing if we were being obnoxious, but I just don’t understand those people that go to concerts and just stand their like a board. It’s music man, dance!

Leave a Reply

