The Kracken Continues

Thought I would let everyone know how it has been going since I started working out with Kracken. (See earlier post, Kracken That Whip).

It’s been around 20 days so far. I have met with Kracken 6 times and have been working out at home. The workouts I have with Kracken are great! She gets my heart rate up, she shows me ways to move my muscles in ways I haven’t in many years, and she is so great at explaining all of the whys.

For instance, she has me jumping. Like straight up and down, or along an agility latter, or up onto a step. I can’t tell you the last time I jumped for anything. False, I have jumped for a few high-fives and hugs, but not anything like this.

The thing I absolutely love about her is how she explains things. She tells you how to do everything down to the littlest details. I have worked with trainers in the past and I just get told do “hold in your core” but what does that mean? It means you need to keep your shoulders back, your hips forward and flexing your abs. It doesn’t mean holding your breath! When I work out now, I actually know when I need to stop and realign things. I know if I am allowing my shoulders to drop, or my legs are not where they should be. She tells me which muscles I should be feeling the work out in and how to do each thing safely.

Understanding how to carry myself and all of this weight is really helping. I have been paying closer attention to my posture. And let’s be honest boys, when my shoulders are back where they should be, it makes my tits look great. Right?  And since I have been working on building my core strength, posture and balance, I haven’t felt the need to see my chiropractor.  And don’t get me wrong, I love my chiropractor, but if I can avoid seeing him, I will.

Last night I bought a new journal, a paper one even, so that I could write down the exercises that I am doing with Kracken and while I am at home. I will also be writing down how I am feeling, and anything else I feel important that will contribute to my health. I know I could be sharing all of these entries with you all, but for now, it is a little more personal and for my own reflection.  I will continue to keep you posted however.

One thing that Kracken did want me to do is figure out my goals. Something other than “Lose 30 pounds” or “Get Healthy.”  Something tangible that I can actually see, and feel. So here is a list of some things that I would like:

Mini Goals:

  • Do 5 proper situps
  • Drop 1 clothing size (down to a size 14)
  • Never go more than 2 days without working out

And with the above I want to also do the following:

  • Consistently complete my homework and feel comfortable working out on my own
  • Feel stronger
  • Understand my limits (how far can I push it, and when should I stop)
  • Engage my muscles with every movement. They are there for a reason, use them!
  • Skate more often

Well that’s what I have so far.  I will only get out of this as much as I put into it. As Kracken said, only I can screw this up. I am the only one responsible for my actions.

Leave a Reply

