On the Go: Dentist & the Derby

I had an appointment today at the dentist. It was my first time meeting the doc, though I’d been in previously for a cleaning.

As I was waiting, watching the little tv on the ceiling, the episode of Man vs. Food where Adam visits Detroit came on. Funny, I thought, that I’d have some friends and familiar settings to distract me. 

The doc came in, introduced himself and overheard the tv mention Lafayette Coney Island, and so he struck up a conversation about Detroit and good places to get some great food.  Well as you can imagine, that conversation eventually led to what all conversations lead to, Roller Derby.

I can’t even begin to explain how excited he was that I was involved, that there were still bouts, and that he could see one at the Masonic Temple. 

Needless to say, I think we have a new fan, and I don’t have any cavities!

Leave a Reply

